.

Location Barby

The groundbreaking ceremony for one of the first major investments in the New Federal States after unification made by Cargill took place in the presence of the German Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl on 10 October 1991.

Our modern starch manufacturing plant is located in Barby near Magdeburg in Saxony−Anhalt. The area known as "Magdeburger Börde" is one of Germany´s richest grain cultivating regions. Our plant processes wheat to starch and starch derivatives. 149 employees work in Barby and production takes place, around the clock, 365 days a year. Thanks to the employees multifunctional capabilities, work is executed in four shifts with teams managing their tasks independently.

Here, too, Cargill complies with its policy by applying only proven environmental techniques. The energy concept allows for environmentally sound energy supply while incorporating state−of−the−art technology. The primary energy use is reduced to a technically possible absolute minimum by multiple use of steam, heat recovery and exhaust steam decompression. A gas turbine concept allows for excellent thermal efficiency of 75% to 80% at the plant.

Location history

  • 1905 Foundation of Corn Products Co., branch office Germany, Hamburg (later Deutsche Maizena Werke GmbH resp. Deutsche Maizena Werke AG)
  • 1924 Start−up of maize starch factory in Barby
  • 1969 Name changes to VEB Maisan
  • 1990 Contract processing with Cerestar Deutschland GmbH begins
  • 1991 Laying of foundation stone for a wheat starch plant under the name Cerestar by the German Federal Chancellor Dr. Helmut Kohl
  • 1994 Inauguration of the factory by the Federal Minister of Agriculture, Jochen Borchert

Products

The product range comprises various types of glucose syrups which are processed for the food industry (including the sweets industry), breweries, the beverage industry, the dairy processing industry and the baking industry.
In addition, wheat starch, wheat gluten as well as products for animal feed are also produced here.

Corporate responsibility

Since 1994 we have been financially supporting the sports club SSV Blau Weiss Barby (children and youth sports section − canoe and fistball) and the volunteer fire brigade in Barby.

.
.

.

Standort Barby

Am 10. Oktober 1991 wurde in Anwesenheit von Bundeskanzler
Dr. Helmut Kohl der Grundstein für eine der ersten großen Investitionen in den neuen Bundesländern nach der Wende gelegt. 

Unsere moderne Stärkefabrik in Barby bei Magdeburg in Sachsen−Anhalt liegt in der Magedeburger Börde, einem der besten Getreideanbaugebiete Deutschlands und verarbeitet Weizen zu Stärke und Stärkederivaten. In Barby arbeiten 149 Mitarbeiter. Die Produktion erfolgt ganzjährig rund um die Uhr in vier Schichten auf der Basis von selbst− ständigen Arbeitsteams mit Mitarbeitern mit multifunktionalen Fähigkeiten.

Dem Ziel, nur ausgereifte Umwelttechniken anzuwenden, hat Cargill auch in Barby Rechnung getragen. Das Energiekonzept ermöglicht eine umweltschonende Energieversorgung. Es beinhaltet den Einsatz neuester Technologie. Der Verbrauch an Primärenergie wird durch mehrmaliges Verwenden von Dampf, Wärmerückgewinnung und Verwendung mechanischer Brüdenkompression auf das technisch mögliche Minimum gebracht. Ein Gasturbinenkonzept ermöglicht einen großen Wirkungsgrad der Anlage von 75%−80%.

Historie des Standorts

  • 1905 Gründung der Corn Products Co., Niederlassung Deutschland Hamburg (später Deutsche Maizena Werke GmbH bzw. Deutsche Maizena Werke AG)
  • 1924 Inbetriebnahme der Maisstärkefabrik in Barby
  • 1969 Umfirmierung der Barbyer Fabrik zum VEB Maisan
  • 1990 Beginn der Lohnverarbeitung mit Cerestar Deutschland GmbH
  • 1991 Grundsteinlegung für die Weizenstärkefabrik unter dem Firmennamen Cerestar durch Bundeskanzler Dr. Helmut Kohl
  • 1994 Einweihung der Fabrik durch Bundeslandwirtschaftminister Jochen Borchert

Produkte

Unser Produktionssortiment umfasst verschiedene Typen an Glukosesirupen, die insbesondere in der Lebensmittelindustrie, einschließlich Süßwarenindustrie, Brauereien, Getränkeindustrie, Milchverarbeitungsindustrie und Backwarenbetriebe weiterverarbeitet werden.
Darüberhinaus werden Weizenstärke Weizenkleber sowie Erzeugnisse für die Tierernährung hergestellt.

Corporate Responsibility

Wir unterstützen seit 1994 den Sportverein SSV Blau Weiss Barby (Kinder− und Jugendsport) (Kanu und Faustball) und die Freiwillige Feuerwehr Barby finanziell.

.
.